In the late 1960’s the federal government began requiring increased collaborative planning with the goal of improved uniformity, long-range planning and closer program coordination across city, town, county and state boundaries.  Arizona’s response to this requirement was to create 6 regional planning districts.  The Councils of Governments, AKA Regional Councils, are the voluntary associations within these planning districts.

WACOG serves the Region IV planning district, covering Mohave, La Paz and Yuma Counties.  WACOG was created to:  improve efficiencies and coordination across multiple federal programs; develop long-range strategies to address needs, particularly in areas of transportation, the environment and human services; and, be a mechanism to address issues such as communication, planning, policymaking, coordination, advocacy and technical assistance.